books topic page

3:39 am on Saturday March 5, 2016

Pat Conroy, author of ‘The Prince of Tides’ and ‘The Great Santini,’ dies at 70

On Friday the author who write of family life and scenic Lowcountry marshlands died at 70.
9:01 am on Saturday August 23, 2014

Fall book sale returns September 26-28

The Friends of the Beaufort Library's Fall Book Sale runs from Friday, September 26, to Sunday, September 28, at Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park. Here are details from a release:  The Friends of the Library member-only preview sale is from 10 am...
7:37 am on Saturday March 22, 2014

Spring Book Sale set for April

Your chance to load up on great reading options at a great price is just around the corner. The Friends of the Beaufort Library will hold its annual Spring Book Sale from 10:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 26 at the downtown Beaufort Branch...
4:02 am on Monday March 17, 2014

Lawmakers add precedent in college censorship

A poltical debate with some S.C. legislators has left public colleges with funding at the cost of freedom.
1:44 am on Tuesday March 11, 2014

Gay, lesbian themes in freshmen reading to cost S.C. universities

After freshmen reading books contained subject matter on homosexuality, lawmakers look like they intend to make Cuts to the College of Charleston's and USC Upstate's budgets stick.  
5:08 am on Wednesday February 26, 2014

A farewell to the kitty of Blue Bicycle Books

After some 20 years, the beloved cat at Blue Bicycle Books, Purdy, has passed. A hat tip to the Charleston City Paper for spotting the news.
6:34 am on Saturday September 28, 2013

The Friends of the Beaufort Library's Fall Book Sale

The Friends of the Beaufort Library's Fall Book Sale runs from Friday, September 27, to Sunday, September 29, at Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park.
10:16 am on Wednesday August 28, 2013

David Sedaris coming to Charleston Music Hall on October 23

With sardonic wit and incisive social critiques, David Sedaris has become one of America’s pre-eminent humor writers. The great skill with which he slices through cultural euphemisms and political correctness proves that Sedaris is a master of...
2:49 pm on Friday July 5, 2013

Some of the best cultural attractions in South Carolina (and nearby)

Charleston is getting much attention these days as a cultural destination, but there's a lot more to be seen if South Carolina and just across the border in places like Asheville and Savannah.
3:40 pm on Wednesday May 1, 2013

David Sedaris coming to the Charleston Music Hall

Author and comedian David Sedaris is coming to Charleston on Wednesday, October 23, at 7:30 p.m. celebrating the release of his latest book Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls.  

Pages

Advertisement